Bradford’s ‘Order and Collect’ book service extended


Bradford Council’s library service is extending its ‘Order and Collect Service for books with another six libraries now offering this service - but not Ilkley.

In addition to City, Keighley and Shipley libraries which have been running the service for the past two weeks, Eccleshill, Manningham, Wibsey, Burley, Menston and Silsden will be the latest libraries to offer this facility. This phase of reopening includes three community run libraries.


Cllr Kyle Green has spoken of his disappoint that Bradford Council have failed to include Ilkley Library in the next wave of openings:


"I am certain many residents will be particularly frustrated by this, especially at the start of the summer holidays when children are keen to keep practicing their reading away from school."


"I am working with my colleagues as well speaking to Robbie Moore MP to demand urgent action to get the library reopened ASAP for a click and collect service."


"If you have any concerns on this issue please do email me at Kyle.green@bradford.gov.uk"

This new order and collect service allows customers to order by reserving from the Bradford Libraries online catalogue as well as by email or phone. Customers will then be able to collect their book orders from libraries that are open at an agreed time slot. Customers can now also return their books to these libraries.

There will be a single collection point in each library and to make sure that social distancing guidelines are adhered to customers will be allocated a time slot.

To help customers make book choices and discuss reading preferences, library staff will also be available via phone and email and will put together a pack of books for customers.

In common with other library services across the country Bradford Council has planned for a gradual, phased approach to reopening libraries that prioritises the safety of staff and customers.

The following libraries will be offering the Order and Collect service – opening times may vary.

· Burley Library burleylibrary@gmail.com 01943 863714

· City Library - city.library@bradford.gov.uk 01274 433600

· Eccleshill Library - eccleshill.library@bradford.gov.uk   01274 431544

· Keighley Library - keighley.library@bradford.gov.uk 01535 618212

· Manningham  Library - manningham.library@bradford.gov.uk  01274 435353

· Menston Library – menston.library@gmail.com  01943 876539

· Shipley Library - shipley.library@bradford.gov.uk   01274 437150

· Silsden Library - silsdenlibrary@gmail.com  07582 102307

· Wibsey  Library - wibsey.library@bradford.gov.uk  01274 435446

The Order and Collect service will start in these libraries from the following dates and times: Menston from Monday 20 July (10.30am), Burley from Tuesday 21 July (2pm), Manningham from Wednesday 22 July (10am), Eccleshill and Wibsey from Thursday 23 July (10am),  and Silsden from Mon 27 July (10am).

Please contact the library for further details and opening hours or visit the website: www.bradford.gov.uk/libraries

Social distancing rules will be applied, protective screens will be used in some areas and staff will be equipped with personal protective equipment (PPE) where necessary.

In addition, the Home Library Service is delivering books to customers across the district who are less mobile, and popular digital and online lending services are continuing throughout. 

Councillor Sarah Ferriby, Bradford Council’s Executive Member for Healthy People and Places, said: “We are pleased to announce this next stage of the process to see the safe reintroduction of library services across the district.We’d like to thank customers for their patience and understanding at this difficult time. We are working hard to prepare for rollout to all libraries as soon as reasonably possible and really looking forward to welcoming our customers back again.

For information about all Bradford Libraries services please visit www.bradford.gov.uk/libraries

© Copyright Ilkley Chat 2020

Steve Ridealgh.png