top of page

Wharfedale Scout District mark St George's Day

St George's Day Wharfedale Scout District Parade took place yesterday ending at Otley Rugby Club hosted by 2nd Otley Scout Group.

The parade took place on the Pavements from Garnett's Field, North Avenue, Hamilton Terrace, turning left into walkway just beyond Wharfedale Court, turning right into Wharfe Street, up Dennison Hill, turning left onto Cross Green before entering Otley Rugby Club.

500 youth members from all over Wharfedale District took part, groups came from 2nd Otley, Otley Methodist, Menston, Otley Bridge, Burley in Wharfedale, Addingham, 3rd Ben Rhydding, 1st Ben Rhydding, Ilkley Christchurch, Explorers and Otley Parish.

After the parade, the Welcome address came from Mark Hargrave 2nd Otley Cubs, with music, an act of rededication and renewal dedicating to Scouting & our Patron Saint St George by renewing the Squirrel and Beaver Scout, Cub Scout and Scout promises, and awards.

Special Awards were presented to.:

1st BR Beaver Scout - Elwyn Bullock Awarded Chief Scout's Personal Award 2023 to acknowledge and recognise his tremendous efforts and sheer determination to try and make a difference for his sister.

Recently Elwyn has completed a triathlon to fundraise for an Innonwalker for his sister, who has cerebral palsy. He raised £8,000. Elwyn said I love my sister very very much and I would like to raise money to help buy an Innonwalk machine to help make her muscles stronger so hopefully one day we can walk to school together.

Bear Grylls the Chief Scout was 'bowled over by Elwyn's incredible achievements'

County Vice President Mark Stageman BEM, Dan Breeze Assistant County Commissioner for Squirrels Scouts, Plus our District Commissioners Paul Jennings & Tim Haskins presented St George's honours Awards to:

Silver Wolf - The Highest Award in UK Scouting for service only of the most exceptional nature:

Roger Banister - Menston; Peter Bennett - District and Robin Beaumont - 1st Ben Rhydding

Silver Acorn - for specially distinguished and appreciably better than outstanding service:

Judith Dickinson - Ilkley Christchurch; Shelia Southern - Lionhearts ( SAS ) and Gary Williams - Lionhearts (SAS)

The following were acknowledge their recent awards:

Bar to The Award of Merit - this represents further outstanding service of keen, conscientious, imaginative, and dedicated service over a sustained period:

Jean Griffin - Addingham; Sue Williamson - 1st BR; Ian Williamson - 1st BR; Ruth Lawson - 3BR; Sally Harrison - 3BR; Beverley Rothery; Liz Williams - Lionhearts; Graham Gilberthorpe; Cath Britton - Reva and Rob Young - Reva.

The photos show award holders, the parade, attendees in the stands and the best turned group, which was won by The Explorer Scouts - presented with the St George's Trophy in memory of Philip Conyers Group Leader of 3rd Ben Rhydding Scouts.

District Commissioners Paul Jennings & Tim Haskins thanked everyone most sincerely for attending and for the sunshine which enabled us all to enjoy a wonderful celebration organised so well by Mark Hargrave 2nd Otley Cubs & The 2nd Otley Group Leaders & parents.


bottom of page